Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Dragon Expectations?

Discussion in the Open Talk forum
Dragon Expectations?
It's time to give credit where credit is due.

Now I'm new to NPB and this forum and I quickly established myself as a Dragons fan. I remember, early this year, a thread in which everyone picked their final standings for the season. Everyone universally picked Chunichi to be at the bottom of the CL -- citing the loses of players like Kawakami and Woods, as well as the ages of key players.

As a first year fan I was bummed. The Dragons did start out as everyone predicted -- mediocre. However, Tony Blanco and "Mr. Three-Run" (I love it!) has CD fans shouting, "Tyrone Who?" and I'm getting a fun introduction to NPB as a result.

Now, the reason I post is that I want to ask if fans who know the league can expect Chunichi to keep this up. The Dragons are currently 5.5 out and about to overtake the Swallows for second.

Can this team make some noise in the Climax? (That is the CL playoff name, right?)

Thanks guys! And I hope I don't sound like a cocky new fan. I'm just loving watching this brand of baseball and am looking to learn more and have my faith rewarded!
Comments
Re: Dragon Expectations?
[ Author: No.1BayFan | Posted: Jul 7, 2009 11:12 PM | YOK Fan ]

In NPB there are 2 teams you can never count out when it comes to making the final cut in my opinion, and those teams are the Hokkaido Nippon Ham Fighters and the Chunichi Dragons. Why? Because they are tested and find ways to win when it counts. So my answer to you is, yes they most certainly can. But really the question should be, will they keep it up?