Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Pacific League v. Central League

Discussion in the Open Talk forum
Pacific League v. Central League
Hi,

I am new to Puro Yakyu, and to this forum. While I may have come with the intent of proving a point in a Houston Astros forum, I'm glad I stumbled across this site. I know very little about Japanese Baseball, and I'm looking forward to finding out more.

Anyway, the debate I'm having is with regards to the merits of the DH. The Pacific League (AL), and Central League (NL) are an excellent control if you will for my hypothesis that the DH produces better results.

Does anyone know where I can find out what interleague results for Pacific League and Central League teams are?

Thanks,

pillage
Comments
Re: Pacific League v. Central League
[ Author: westbaystars | Posted: Feb 23, 2010 7:49 PM | YBS Fan ]

Welcome to the wonderful world of Pro Yakyu. I hope you have a pleasant stay.

As for your premise that "the DH produces better results," it all depends on your definition of "results." And the amount of data since inter-league started in 2005 isn't nearly enough to really attribute any meaning to what "results" there are.

For example, the yearly wins/losses by league [source - NPB BIS in Japanese] were:
YearCL PL
2005104W7T105W
When each team played a three game series home and away against the opposite league in 2005-6, everything was pretty even. But when that was reduced to two games home and away in 2007, the smaller sample size tended to favor the PL for the first two years, then the CL last year. But that's hardly enough time to really say anything.

All five years so far a Pacific League team has won overall inter-league competition. (But interestingly, didn't fare as well against their own league more often than not.)