Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

College Baseball in Japan?

Discussion in the Ask the Commish forum
College Baseball in Japan?
First, a little background. I am currently a graduate student at Kansas State University and former junior college baseball player (one season) and was playing at a pretty high level when I quit about 6 years ago. I plan on enlisting in the Army this year after I finish up my masters. I miss baseball and really regret quiting but there are plenty of opportunities to play in the Army. With that said, after I do my three years in the Army I plan on moving to Tokyo and pursuing another masters and/or PHD at Waseda, in the school of sports science) and I can't help but think how cool it would be to play college ball at Waseda.

Does anybody if it is even possible (assuming I'm talented enough to make the team)? Do they have tryouts? Will being 30 years old matter? Will being American matter? Will having played American college baseball and on assorted Army teams effect eligibility? And any other random things I'm forgetting?

I saw that Jim Allen has covered some college baseball in Japan, I would really like to get ahold of him to talk further about this. Does anyone have his e-mail address?

Thanks everyone.
Comments
Re: College Baseball in Japan?
[ Author: Guest | Posted: May 14, 2010 5:57 PM ]

On paper, age doesn't matter. What I am not clear about is whether graduate students have the eligibility.

In reality, I highly doubt Waseda accepts walk-ons or 30-year-old players. It's the highest level of college baseball in Japan. Just think of Division One college football in the US. Although KSU might accept walk-ons, there is no way they accept 30-year-old PhD graduate students.
[ Author: Guest: jason kern | Posted: May 14, 2010 6:49 PM ]