Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Japan Series?

Discussion in the Ask the Commish forum
Japan Series?
Is it correct that the Japan Series doesn't even start until October 30? I'm new to Japanese baseball, but is this long a layoff normal?
Comments
Re: Japan Series?
[ Author: westbaystars | Posted: Oct 24, 2010 9:45 PM | YBS Fan ]

Yes, October 30th is the start of the 2010 Nippon Series.

And, yes, it is normal to start after such a long layoff.

The entire month of October is traditionally a month of schedule rearranging. The most interesting "feature" of this year's rearranging was the Giants scheduling regular season games (not makeup games) at Tokyo Dome toward the end of the makeup schedule. My theory is that they've seen how having important games at the end of the season can help lead to better conditioning going into the post-season. So they intentionally left games off their schedule at the start of the season to schedule when the October schedule was better known.

Then there was the staggering of the playoffs between the two leagues. I don't know if it was intended, but I'm sure that the Pacific League enjoyed being the only game on cable for much of the playoff schedule.

Finally, as for the long gap after the end of all of the playoffs, that's to have the Series start on a weekend. The Nippon Series is always schedule to be Sat, Sun, Tue, Wed, Thu, Sat, Sun (final three if needed). That has everything to do with trying to get higher attendance and ratings. Frankly, I was kind of surprised that the playoffs didn't guarantee games on the weekends in the case of it only going 3 games.

NPB's inability to keep a tight schedule is discussed pretty much every October. Personally, I don't mind that the baseball season gets stretched out longer. I like the idea of year-round baseball.
[ Author: SteveNovosel | Posted: Oct 25, 2010 10:09 AM | LOT Fan ]