Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Best Japanese Clubs by Season - Help Needed

Discussion in the Ask the Commish forum
Best Japanese Clubs by Season - Help Needed
My name is Patrick Gordon and I manage the Philadelphia Baseball Review. In addition to writing, I also teach an upper level sports journalism course at Temple University and do freelance work for MLB.com, Baseball America, and other similar publications. I'm writing in hopes of some assistance regarding Japanese baseball.

I'm not a novice on the sport in Japan, by any means. I'm familiar with the nuances and how the game differs from that here in America. Over the past two years I have been working on perfecting a mathematical formula to determine how good a baseball team actually is. I've statistically analyzed every MLB team dating back to 1900 and found three categories to be the most closely correlated to winning: OPS, Run Differential, and WHIP. Using regression, I've developed a formula that actually correlates better to winning percentage than the Pythagorean Theorem.

The model: (.503+(OPS*.097)+(RDiff*.006)+(WHIP*-.053). | Link to read reasoning behind it.

I've used this formula to rank every club in MLB dating to 1900 and I want to do the same for Japan, so that's where I'm seeking some guidance from Japanese baseball experts (if you know statistics, that's even better).

Right now, to acquire data, I've been getting data from Baseball Reference, however, the process is tedious because I have to create a new Excel sheet for every season and league. By chance, do you have access to data in Excel format that would contain yearly team data for OPS, Run Differential, and WHIP? This would save significant time and I'm sure something exists that I'm just not aware of.