Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

World Cup Baseball

Discussion in the Links forum
World Cup Baseball
World Cup Baseball

You will find baseball players' stats. Not just from Japan, but a dosen nations.

The time has come to give a Baseball World Cup consideration.
Comments
Re: World Cup Baseball
[ Author: Kiyoshi | Posted: Feb 21, 2003 1:47 AM | HAN Fan ]

The World Cup idea is great. May I propose an alternative until the time a world cup is ever worked out?

I will trot "my old horse" that I've been suggesting for over 20 years. MLB, NPB, KBO, CPBL, and Mexican League championship systems are already in place. Why not send the champions from each of the respective leagues to play at Aloha Stadium in Hawaii every November? These leagues represent the best professional players from all the world.
[ Author: thataboy1 | Posted: Feb 25, 2003 9:05 AM ]

I think that the idea of a true "world champion" is great. Unfortunately I feel that MLB heads would not want to take part for the reason that if they lost it would only damage the image of MLB more than it already is. If it did happen I think that the best place to hold the Tourney should alternate each year.
[ Author: Kiyoshi | Posted: Feb 25, 2003 2:31 PM | HAN Fan ]

You have a good point. NPB and the other leagues have everything to gain. MLB would have a marketing nightmare if they lost. Since 1900, MLB has claimed undisputed supriority over any other leagues.
[ Author: sipin3_jp | Posted: Feb 25, 2003 10:22 PM ]

You know, the first World Cup soccer tournament was held in Uruguay back in 1930. FIFA did not have any money back then and only 13 nations participated, 7 from South America, 4 from Europe, the USA, and Mexico. And Uruguay was the champions. The UK (England) did not participate saying they were undoubtedly the greatest and did not need to compete to prove that.

England first joined in 1950 but lost to the US. They had to wait until 1966 to celebrate the championship.