Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Tied Playoff Game

Discussion in the Open Talk forum
Tied Playoff Game
I'll get to the point. I hate the 12-inning tie rule. I'm sure most of you here have left a tied game feeling completely devoid of any excitement/disappointment. Just feeling like you wasted 4 hours instead.

Using this rule in the playoffs just makes it that much more ridiculous. Last night, seeing players running out of the dug-out to celebrate a tie was so bush league.

I don't buy the excuse, "Oh, it's so people can catch a train home." That's a fan's prerogative. If you want to stay or you want to go, leave that to the fans. These guys are professionals and should play out a game.

If I can play devil's advocate (and don't get me wrong, I'm a huge fan of pro yakyu), this rule is one of the constant reasons why I hear Japanese baseball is "Mickey Mouse" and AA ball.

Get rid of this stupid rule, please!
Comments
Re: Tied Playoff Game
[ Author: Guest: guest | Posted: Oct 25, 2008 11:47 PM ]

Yeah, I'm really trying to enjoy Japanese baseball, but these playoffs are a joke. They change the rules every year, they allow ties, they have a one-game advantage. Isn't home-field advantage enough? If there are too many upsets, what will they do next? Make the lower-ranked team bat all their hitters from the opposite side of the plate? At least they got what they wanted this year in that the Giants and Lions both advanced. But I'm personally tired of this lack of execution in deciding a decent playoff format.
[ Author: Guest | Posted: Oct 26, 2008 8:44 AM ]

I'm OK with ties in the regular season, but absolutely not in the post-season. Plus, 50% is too high a percentage play-off participation.
[ Author: Guest: MadHeated | Posted: Oct 28, 2008 11:11 PM ]

I've gotten used to ties in NPB. They bother me less than the TV stations cutting off a game going down to the wire after nine pm.