Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Japanese Style of Baseball

Discussion in the Ask the Commish forum
Japanese Style of Baseball
I am a high school coach in Texas. I am very intrigued by the style of play of the Japanese. I am looking for any resources that may give me input to the Japanese style of hitting, mental approach, and example of practices. They are so sound in all aspects of the game. I'd like info to model for my HS program.
Comments
Re: Japanese Style of Baseball
[ Author: Guest: DEEZ | Posted: Jun 4, 2009 5:17 PM ]

You do not want to submit your kids to the Japanese style of baseball. I have watched them and they run everything like they are in the Army. Also, if you are looking for resources then you probably should not be coaching. Baseball is American, so keep it American.
[ Author: Guest: cj | Posted: Jun 4, 2009 10:36 PM ]

If I'm not looking for resources to try to better myself and my kids for my kids I shouldn't be coaching!
[ Author: Guest: RED | Posted: Jun 5, 2009 2:17 PM ]

Stick to the resources available to you in the US. Japanese baseball is quantity over quality whereas in the US it is quality over quantity. In Japan they only focus on fielding and bunting, they leave out the base running aspect of it. If the players are not told what to do, they have no idea how to do it.
[ Author: Guest | Posted: Jun 5, 2009 8:38 AM ]

American, but : WBC Champion = Japan.
[ Author: Kiyoshi | Posted: Jun 5, 2009 1:43 PM | HAN Fan ]

Probably best to follow Trey Hillman's example of incorporating the best of both baseball worlds.

Also, read this thread that I posted a few months ago about an American kid's experience in Japanese high school baseball.
[ Author: Guest: RED | Posted: Jun 5, 2009 2:12 PM ]

WBC? The best that America has did not even play. You put the best vs the best and we shall see what would happen. The regular baseball season is way more important than the WBC in the US.