Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Tryouts?

Discussion in the Ask the Commish forum
Tryouts?
Michael,

I'm sure others have ask this question before, but I was wondering if there's any type of open tryouts for the league? If not, do you suggest I contact directly to the teams? I'm an agent here in California and I was hoping for some dates if there are any tryouts. Currently I have few former MLB and Triple A players that are capable of playing there.
Comments
Re: Tryouts?
[ Author: westbaystars | Posted: Dec 19, 2009 9:34 PM | YBS Fan ]

Hayashi-san,

My advice to players (as stated in the FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions) is to get an agent. You're the first agent to ask how to get started.

Nonetheless, yes, there are general open tryouts, but usually in the fall, mainly geared toward Japanese players who had been released from their teams. But there are often a number of foreigners and independents joining in. Gen over at Yakyu Baka has translated a number of tryout articles to English. If any more are coming up, he'll most likely have the word out in English before anyone else.

Of course, fall tryouts aren't very useful now. But don't fret. Most teams will hold individual tryouts during spring training in February. Yes, you read that right, February. You'll need to contact the teams individually, so I'd suggest doing the necessary research into finding what teams are interested in before making contact, and then making sure your clients match the desired profiles. Your clients will also have to be in top physical condition by the start of February as well if they plan on making an impression.