Adjust Font Size: A A       Guest settings   Register

Asia Series

Discussion in the Ask the Commish forum
Asia Series
Hello.

I am a staff writer for the Perth Heat and am looking at writing a preview on our opponents at the Asia Series.

I know the Japan Series is still in progress (I am watching Game Three as I type this), but I was wondering if it would be possible to contact someone from this blog to give me a few quotes about the eventual champions for my preview. I'll be after things like best players and any interesting traditions and stories about the club.

If you would be interested let me know. I'm a one time visitor to Japan and as a baseball fanatic I fell in love with Japanese baseball from first pitch. Going to Korea for this tournament will be a dream come true for me!

Thanks,
Tom
Comments
Re: Asia Series
[ Author: westbaystars | Posted: Nov 4, 2012 10:42 PM | YBS Fan ]

This promises to be an interesting series with six teams instead of the usual four.

I'm afraid that I know almost nothing of the China and Taiwan teams. The China league disbanded this year, so I was surprised to see them participating. The Lamigo Monkeys from Taiwan should be competitive.

Perth's first game will be against the Lotte Giants (Korea). The team lost to the SK Wyverns in the second round of Korea's playoffs, something they seem to do often. They're good enough to consistently get to the playoffs, but not to get through to the big game. To make matters worse for them going into the Asia Series, their manager stepped down after losing the playoffs, so their new manager may not have the experience with the players necessary to lead them to victory. They will have a home field advantage, and the team is very popular.